My thoughts on #radlib15 – part 1: introductions.

So, as some of you may be aware earlier this month I embarked upon a radical road trip up to Huddersfield in order to attend the RLC’s library camp. Here I’m going to write more about my thoughts on the event and how I might continue to consider or apply things discussed in Huddersfield in my work.I’ll start off with an introduction to the event, and continue with a series of individual posts about each session I went to.

On the eve of the event, I reassured my friends in Oxford that I wasn’t going to end up getting mugged or kidnapped and headed over to Ebbsfleet to meet some other RLC folk with whom I’d made transport arrangements over twitter. And from there we embarked on the drive to our destination.

Sign in hand, I ventured to Kent to hop in a car with a bunch of strangers. Not as scary as it seems.
Sign in hand, I ventured to Kent to hop in a car with a bunch of strangers. Not as scary as it seems.

The drive itself was really fun, it was nice to actually meet the people I’d been talking to online so much and we managed to get there alive. We went to a pub for a bit of a pre-radlib social with a few others and there I met even more people who I sort of already knew because of twitter. If you think walking into a room of strangers is awkward, walking into a room with a bunch of people you’ve essentially stalked online is even more awkward. However, we were all somewhat in the same boat and people were incredibly friendly. Drinks and pizza were had, and I ended up having a very pleasant evening.

Social stuff aside, I got up early to help set up at the venue as I was roped in to be part of the voluntary organising committee and had bought eco-friendly cups, plates and spoons to be used. Once the venue was set up and people had mostly all arrived we got started. People stood up and pitched sessions which were stuck up on the wall to give a loose idea of the day’s timetable. We had two rooms to use so there were always parallel sessions going on. This was great in the sense that it meant more people’s ideas were represented and it gave people more choice but also a shame because it was hard to choose sessions and I did end up missing out on one or two things I’d have really liked to go to. The sessions I ended up attending were as follows:

1. Communicating with users

2. Radical research

3. Teamwork

4. Local RLC networks

5. Gender issues/Power structures

6. Inequality in education.

I already wrote an overview of the event for RLC Oxford, so this will be a more detailed insight into what I feel I got out of the sessions and how I may continue to consider it in a professional context. If you’d like to read more about what happened in the sessions themselves, please see the RLC Oxford site here where my posts are published, and keep an eye out on here for my individual session write ups appearing!

Leave a Reply

