It isn’t all bad news.

I feel like I spend a lot of time being quite critical on this blog. Whilst this is something I think is really important in the career, I thought it would also be useful for me to write about things I am actually doing for a change.

Well, I have been quite busy! I’ve been working on launching the Future Library and Information Professionals Network (FLIP), and our site is now up and running and we have started posting content – the first proper article being about my career so far. The idea is that we can use this to inspire people who want to get into the profession to do so, even though it can be demanding and come with some difficult choices. We’re aiming to reach out to anyone who is interested in a career in libraries but isn’t sure where to start, people working at a paraprofessional level and considering a postgraduate qualification and current/prospective graduate trainees. Hopefully we can then help people to talk with one another, share experiences, ask questions and get information they can relate to. We have a twitter account too you can follow, so get in touch if you’d like to be involved.

Another thing I am preparing for is #radlib15! The Radical Librarians Collective camp in Huddersfield on Saturday. Initially I was only attending, but I was approached by Ian Clark to run a session with him on establishing local groups as I’m still chugging away with RLC Oxford, trying to get that established further. Ian and I will be talking about issues and barriers to setting up local groups, how these can be overcome and hopefully inspiring some people to go away and make something happen. Although not a traditional conference, this will be my first experience of speaking at a work related event. Mostly though I am looking forward to meeting more like minded individuals. I will write a blog post up after the camp to say more about my experiences, and I’ll probably tweet a bit whilst I’m there.

Lastly, I’ve got some ideas in the works for how the RLC Oxford group can be more active in the community. However, I won’t go into too much detail here as I’m sure we’ll be writing about that on the RLC blog. It’s going to be a busy summer…

Leave a Reply

